Inspiration eludes me
She leaps from wall to wall soundlessly
Waiting on baited breath I may hear her spring
Her hushed wake, the only sound
Surely she watches as I grasp at shadows
Her featureless face clean of motive
Arms flailing in the dark
My fingertips brush her ankle
Gone by the time they return
We play our game
Each glancing touch electrifying our performances
My thrashing exhausts me in time
Hunger and fatigue
Filled with air and ache
But I see her
Suspended above me
Whithin reach without reaching
Her hand placed on my center
Feeling my emptiness
Her home here in me
She will flicker away as I heal
But I will have her for now

~Galwyn

Leave a Reply

