Loneliness is my closest lover
She never leaves me
I incubate her in my mind
She opens my chest
So I can feel the air gust through
She picks through my emotions
Like an inquisitive doctor
She wants to cure me
Probably
I feel her embrace, always
Strongest in the moonlight
Thoughts flapping around my head like moths
She crushes them and brings them to my face
A bundle of crumpled grey wings
Like a flower turning to ash
She makes me see the colors of life
When they finally appear
She selfishly holds me
Her fingers wrapping my arm
As I pull away
I feel them slide down my forearm
Just as I’m to escape
I feel her fingers against mine
I stop
And let them interlock

~Galwyn

Leave a Reply

