My heart strums
With a single flat note resonating
Smooth driftwood flute
Whistling through the air
Screeching with a pronged tip
And base adorned with feathers
Plucked from an angel
Once a piper
For she lured me
And was lost
Now her legacy soars above
Not towards Providence
But hatefully piercing the sun
Her arrow
Burned and blackened by the light
Plummets to earth
Just as she did
And though I see it coming
I make no evasion
For it pierces my chest
Just as she did
Despite the pain and the wounds
Oh, how they abound
I notch my bow everlastingly
In hopes that she’ll burn away
Or her barbs melt
-Galwyn

Leave a Reply

