I want to start again
To hold each minute
And cherish it
For the value it truly has
Old friends
Before they become old
Love
Before it becomes a game
And joy
Before it took the back seat
As I sit here drunkenly
I miss people
I’ve never met
Memories
I’ve never made
And the person
I never became
For what point is life
Without the promise of something better
And why do we dream
If we can never go back
In our mind’s eye
We see how blind we have been
I’ll never take my life
For it would not change the fact
That it was given to the wrong person
Life was simpler
And I was simpler
Hiding behind no names
And faking no smiles
It was all so beautiful
When we were never needed to care

-Galwyn

Leave a Reply

