She speaks the punchlines
Before they pass my lips
She could list my passions
And catch my smile
Before they even enter my mind
She is my closest friend
Yet she doesn’t know me

She’d never see me cry
Couldn’t shoulder my shaking face
And wouldn’t know what to do
If I spoke of my fears

I stomach my rainclouds
To keep sun in our lives
But I want her to know the truth
All the times I’ve laughed with her
And all the times I couldn’t weep

So I type in the evening
For all but her to read
I couldn’t hurt her with this
No matter how much
I want her to see

-Galwyn

Leave a Reply

